Part 1: Warsaw

With my recent retirement, coupled with my Ukrainian heritage, I wanted to volunteer in Poland.
After hours of online research without success, I jumped on a plane to Warsaw.
I opted for “on the ground” research, starting in Warsaw.
At the main train station, I asked how to volunteer…
… and was ushered to the World Central Kitchen registration desk.
Within less than 5 minutes, I went from information seeker to food server.
The kitchen is run by professional chef volunteers from around the world…
… with a broad range of worldwide volunteers to serve the food.
The global support is heartwarming.
The World Central Kitchen tent is next to the Warsaw main train station.
The food is available for all Ukrainians with recent passport stamps.
Canadians are well represented, both from the government and private individuals. The military are checking passports for entry.
Ivona (next to me) was born in Poland, then later moved to Canada and has duel citizenship. She is a one-woman PR machine, promoting Canadian immigration.
Goulash is a staple, served over couscous.
Soup is also popular.
The food is high-quality.
After a stop at Costco, I carried 11 kg (24 lbs.) of food with me from the U.S. (spaghetti and granola bars).
I also made a run to a local Warsaw supermarket …
And picked up a basket of fruits and cookies.
These treats were reserved for the children, and believe it or not, the bananas were the first to go… even faster than the cookies.
Japan is highly represented here. Nakamura-san (right), from Kanagawa, has lived in Kyiv for 20 years creating cultural exchanges with Ukraine and Japan.

The tent is open 23 hours a day, 7 days a week. It’s closed for an hour at 5:00 am for cleaning.
Support for Ukraine is seen throughout Poland.
With my first-hand experience, I’m a huge fan and supporter of World Central Kitchen.
Please donate today via this link https://donate.wck.org/give/396273/#!/donation/checkout
Stay tuned for part 2 from Poland, and please appreciate all that you have. ts

20 thoughts on “Part 1: Warsaw

  1. Congratulations on your retirement! Great to see what you are up to! Angie just organized a fundraiser for Ukrainian through NHS. It was called Bark for Peace. They donated the money via the Red Cross. Too bad she didn’t know about this organization at the time. Give our best to the family! Keep up the good work!

  2. As always, your blogs never disappoint. Stay safe and take care. Tom, the younger cousin, and I are keeping eyes on you! Much love.

  3. Awesome, Tom!!! Glad to hear you made it and found on organization! Thank you for all you do and for sharing your experiences!

    • Thanks, Agnes. It is so great to hear from you. I truly appreciate your insights prior to my travels. I LOVE Poland. What an amazing country… helping so many people with open arms. Poland is setting an example for the world.

  4. Hi Tom! What an amazing adventure you are on and it’s so wonderful to see how you have followed your heart to the other side of the world again! Oh my gosh it looks like a fantastic organization that is really helping in this indescribable craziness in Ukraine. But the goodness of people like you flows into other countries. Good good good for you! Thank you for sharing and look forward to the next one. Peace and a hug… glad that I know someone like you! Take care, Patti

  5. Hi Tom,

    This is amazing! You are truly an inspiration! I really am appreciative of all I have and I remind myself of my blessings while thinking of the Ukrainians. Keep safe and well and I’m looking forward to the next part with a lot of hope for peace.

    The website wasn’t working for me to comment.

    Best wishes, Carolyn

    • Thanks Carolyn. I always value your comments. Yes, it’s true, I’m old and need frequent assistance from the technology gods… but I eventually hit the right combination of buttons. Please keep the comments coming!

  6. Dear Tom, after Germany, India, Japan now Ukraine (in PL) outside of your homeland USA. You are such a positive ambassador for the values of your country and continue to inspire me. Please keep posting and motivating us to donate as your hand-on and real-life engagement is more authentic and inspiring than the words of politicians…. LOVE YOU! Wim.

    • Thank you Wim. Your words are too kind and very humbling. I just HAD to be there. Thanks for you contributions. I can tell you the global support is very motivating to everyone.

Leave a comment