Part 2: Expo centers

After serval days at the World Central Kitchen tent next to the main train station, I branched out farther around Warsaw in search of volunteer opportunities.
World Central Kitchen (WCK) also has a smaller tent at the West train station, but this facility will close soon.
Mariana (with the big smile) will return to Lviv.  She said it’s safe there, and that everyone is leading a normal life. She added, “You have to or you’ll go crazy.”
After a lengthy bus ride to the south of Warsaw, I found this massive Expo center.
What is normally reserved for trade shows is now housing about 2,000 Ukrainians (photos are not permitted inside). I saw several dogs, little girls on roller skates and boys on scooters zooming across the polished concrete. For now, this is home.
Inside are row-upon-row of cots like this one, each with a blanket and pillow. This facility was fully staffed with volunteers so my venture continued.
The Red Cross is also active in Warsaw. From this location, they are providing food and other necessities for about 100 families.
Meet Scott and his son Andrew from Texas. Like me, they became frustrated with online research and jumped on a plane to “figure it out.” They brought suitcases full of clothing and toys to donate.
As empty bags came in from the families, they filled them.
Baby formula was available…
… and paper goods…
… and meat in a can.
Continuing my journey, I stumbled across this tent near a train station.
They were providing medical supplies and baby necessities.
This wall inside the tent was covered with information. Note the poster on the right (I’ll let you fill in the vowels).

Along my way, I picked up some mementos.
On the northern reaches of Warsaw is yet another Expo center. I was shocked (note the dilapidated building on the right).
Fortunately, the building to the rear has been properly maintained and currently houses about 1,500 Ukrainians (in cots like the one shown previously).
There are two basketball hoops in the parking lot.
And WCK is there.
Volunteer opportunities were limited to “entertaining the kids.” Abhisek and his church group from Singapore were quite busy.
I played chess with some of the boys using this 3-in-1 portable set which we borrowed from the game room (most of the pieces were there).
The outpouring of support from Poland is heartwarming. Poland is setting an example for the world.
I am continually impressed with World Central Kitchen.
Please donate today via this link https://donate.wck.org/give/396273/#!/donation/checkout
Stay tuned for part 3 as I venture deeper into Poland, and please appreciate all that you have.

4 thoughts on “Part 2: Expo centers

  1. Tom, what you are doing is awesome and brave.
    I’m inspired. Thanks for sharing the stories and your adventure. Loved the Putin toilet paper!!

  2. Tom, this is so wonderful. Thank you for doing more than your part! If you have some free time and need something to do (as if), go to the maritime museum and see the Soldek, which is where we filmed the “Ship” spot years ago.

    • Thanks Tom for the note and the tip. I’ll have to save that for another trip. My journeys have taken me south and east, near the border. Stay tuned.

Leave a comment