2012-2020: Sayonara – the final blog

After moving to India in 2012, then Japan in 2015, the Asian odyssey has come to a close.  Please enjoy these reflections spanning the past 8 years.

My first Holi  – celebration of colors – in March 2012.

Delhi appears chaotic, but it works.

There’s always room for one more on the bus…

... or the motorcycle.

This is how our bottled water was delivered.

It takes great skill and balance to safely deliver eggs.

I have no doubt this fridge delivery was successful.

This is the definition of Jugaad – if there’s a will, there’s a way.

Monkeys roam the neighborhoods in search of goodies.

 This languor is on his way to work — his job is to chase the monkeys.

Before moving into our home, we invited this Hindu priest to perform a puja ceremony to chase away evil spirits.  He sprinkled every room with Ganges river water.

Started in 1632, Taj Mahal construction took 15 years to complete.  It’s the most famous mausoleum in the world.

Never wake a sleeping guru.

   This bra salesman in Old Delhi told me, “Business is good.”

The efficiency of trimming chicken and goat meat is impressive.  If your toes are holding the knife, then both hands are free.

This shoe repairman has a great location with high visibility.

The Thar desert transportation in Rajasthan is sure-footed and reliable.

We blended in with the locals in Amritsar (sort of).

Kayla’s event to focus attention on female empowerment was a success.  The girls called her Didi (big sister).

Kayla graduated from high school in 2014.  She’s wearing blue in this “Roy G. Biv” ensemble of classmates at their ‘sari not sorry’ event.

Visiting India Gate the day after graduation is tradition.

A big highlight was creating a viral video featuring Sachin Tendulkar, the “God of cricket.”  He’s a life-long BMW fan who graciously gave us an hour of his time on a Sunday afternoon in Mumbai.

Please click on the photo above to watch this 90 second video (we surprised customers with a unique test drive — which was captured on hidden camera).

India was an incredible experience.  The country is full of color, flavor and wonderful people who have an unstoppable spirit.  Next up — Japan.

The first meal in Tokyo had to be a steak (cows are sacred in India, thus beef is illegal).

An early triumph was climbing Mt. Fuji (3776 meters / 12,388 ft.).  I’m glad I did it, but I’ll never do it again.

Japan is also full of color and tradition.

Cosplay (costume play) is prevalent.

Even dogs get in on the action.

These dogs prefer Ralph Lauren.

Sumo is popular.

Rice patty art can be found in Aomori.

Trains are common for commuting (and napping).

Tokyo is filled with stunning and unique architecture (this is the Cocoon building).

Cherry blossom season in Japan is like Oktoberfest in Munich — everyone partakes.

Mt. Fuji is especially stunning during blossom season.

Food sometimes comes with eyeballs.

Halloween is huge in Japan.  Perhaps this is Johnny Depp, I’m not really sure.

Cooking my lunch in Japan’s geothermal steam was a big highlight…

… as was staying at capsule hotels.

In 1989, my friend Jeff and I visited all the major league baseball stadiums.  30 years later, it brought me great joy to have Jeff attend baseball games with me in Japan.

Kayla started her junior year of high school in 2012 while Greg entered 6th grade.  Seven years later, Greg graduated high school in Tokyo.

Covid-19 forced postponement of the summer Olympics. Here at Tokyo Station, the countdown clock has been reset for July 2021.

Saying goodbye is never easy, however, I had a wonderful farewell party – via Skype.  I will miss everyone.

I learned many years ago from the master (Dick Clark), never to thank individual people because someone will be left out — it’s best to thank everyone as a whole.  I understand this rule, however, I need to break it.

First, to Alan.  You brought me into the region in 2012 and later engineered the transition to Tokyo.  I am eternally grateful.  I face Melbourne and salute you.

Next to Dan and Ellen for taking the leap into India.  Sadly, we lost Dan in 2014, but this gentle giant will live forever in our hearts.  He made such a lasting impact on so many people.

And finally to my family.  It’s not often you pull a child from the midpoint of high school and move to India, but there was instant and total support.

The 8 years in Asia (a third of my BMW career) have been life-enriching for all of us.  Thank you Lynda, Kayla and Greg for accepting this adventure.

This blog which began in 2012 on the premise of “Lots of photos – minimal text” is now coming to a close.  My return trip to the U.S. was flawless, and I have already rejoined the BMW Financial Services NJ team (via Skype).  I thank everyone for following this journey.  Stay safe and be healthy.  ts

16 thoughts on “2012-2020: Sayonara – the final blog

  1. Thank you for sharing and including us in your adventure, it was very educational and fun to watch! Welcome home, does this mean you are here in Wanaque? If so let us know if you need anything. Welcome home! The Catt Family

  2. Tom,

    What a neat summary of your & Your families’ world experiences … Thanks for including me over the past several years….

    Been a joy to view your business career and watch your family grow… ( congrats to your children – they have not only grown, but also flowered into beautiful people like their parents )

    Your extended family is obviously very special to us…..

    Dave in particular has kept an old man like me informed via e-mail on political events, etc. He also is a very special friend to Gregory….

    We are proud of your Family even though we do not really know your two other brothers ( we do know your mother from college )

    Obviously, best of wishes in your new assignment with BMW… Yes, I am still debating on a BMW X7 SUV or a Caddy Escalade ( my Escalade is a 2007 and Gregory thinks its time to upgrade… )

    Welcome Home!

    Janice & John Holsinger

  3. Thank you for sharing your adventures. What a great journey ! I am sure coming home after 8 years will be the next adventure. Looking forward to meet you again. All the best for your new job – Sabine

  4. We live vicariously through you and your family. Numerous times someone in our extended family mentioned something about one of your updates. Thank you!

  5. It’s been a pleasure to view your picture blog since 2012 Tom , I will surely miss it. Has been wonderful knowing you and working with you ! Wishing you the very best for the future. Stay safe! Best regards Vasudha

  6. I have loved your journey! The best photos!!! The one that will not leave my brain is the meat cutting with the feet, although there are MANY that are impressive and I love. You really captured your life and the life in Asia. Thank you for letting us all in on your life!! And welcome home old friend!!

  7. Thank you for sharing your amazing experience! It has been my joy to see the notification of an update arrive and peruse all the photos (and minimal text). Welcome home to Wanaque! It will be nice to see you in the office once we return.

  8. Tom, what an amazing life adventure. Hopefully you won’t find the transition to Amish living to be too stressful. Thank you for giving us this window into your world.

  9. Thanks Tom for sharing. The pics and your narration provided a great look into two amazing countries. Be safe and take care.

    Joe K

  10. Hi Tom,
    It was so wonderful knowing you and being a part of your life for sometime… it was an amazing journey and personally I have learned so much from you and enjoyed our lunches back in India.
    Stay safe and will be in touch.

    Regards Rohit

  11. Cousin Tom! I check your blog periodically and see its come to an end! I salute your adventures, your sharing and your family. Take care and be well. Maybe we’ll see you sometime with my brother Tom on the east coast. Much love, Anna

  12. Hey Tom!

    It’s been so very cool to see what your life has been like for these past years. I’m so thankful that you included me in the group who saw these amazing photographs that were educational, entertaining and just plain enjoyable. Really fun to see you and Jeff in the trip where we met on the ferry. Can’t believe it was now over 30 years ago!

    It was great to see how your family changed over time. Not many people get to document that in such fashion. Congratulations on such a wonderful adventure! Keep in touch, as will I, as I head to Vancouver Island for my next chapter. Peace and a smile, Patti

Leave a comment