Part 4: Teaching English

The transit hub of Przemysl was highly active with thousands of refugees headed both ways across the border.  Some were fleeing to Poland lugging huge suitcases, while others were returning to Ukraine to see husbands, fathers and brothers.  As one person told me, “It’s important for those in Ukraine to remember what they’re fighting for.”
Everything was highly organized with many volunteers to assist…
… and everyone can feel the international support.
World Central Kitchen (WCK) was there to make sure everyone had a hot meal.  Thank you to all who have donated. 
I met a group of private German citizens transporting refugees to Munich where local residents are hosting Ukrainians in their homes.  This group is continuing to relocate thousands via an 18 hour bus ride. 
After my 11 hour shift at WCK in Przemysl, I needed a train back to Warsaw. 
While purchasing my train ticket, the woman began asking a lot of questions in Polish.  I responded, “English or Deutsch?”  No luck.  She then recognized the man behind me and spoke to him.  The man then, in German, asked my age.  “Dreiundsechzig” I responded.  He then informed me I received a “rabatt.”   My first senior citizen discount in Europe! 
Throughout my journeys, every train I had used was late (anywhere from 25 to 93 minutes), so I became complacent with the schedule.  I was exactly on time as I was running up the steps at the Przemysl station to see my train pulling out.  Making eye contact with the engineer, I pushed my palms together with a pleading gesture.   The train stopped and I jumped on board.   I love Poland!!
I saw this poster many times along my travels.
Note: his name is spelled a bit differently in Polish.
Back in Warsaw…
… it was laundry day… oh what a glorious day!
Truth be told, I’d started recycling and was getting a bit ripe.
I returned to the Global Expo, where I’d met Paul the previous week.  He is an ESL teacher from New York (English as a second language) who was returning to the U.S. 
He had been teaching English — the adults twice per day, with a children’s class at 10:30 am.
Within three minutes of meeting Paul, he introduced me to the class as the next English teacher
When I arrived for my first day, the classroom was set for me…
… with many visual aids…
… and past classwork…
… covering many topics.
Lesson #1:  Just because you speak English doesn’t make you an English teacher (that was my first lesson learned).  I burned through my “A material” in 30 minutes and wondered how I’d manage the remaining 11 ½ hours of class time over the next four days (thankfully, I’m married to a teacher and received many tips over FaceTime).
The adults were much more advanced than I expected.  They understood contractions… 
… I used this visual to provide a real-life example.
They were also quite strong with homonyms (ate vs. eight). They’d learned English in school, and since most were focused on immigrating, they were highly motived to improve (one student asked me the difference between capital and capitol).
This students wrote this sentence.
They were diligent note-takers.
I explained that Americans like to use positive words.  I gave them the first three, and the class provided the rest.
The children were aged 6 – 13 and the boys were boys (antsy).   The only thing that held their attention was the story book, “The Little Engine That Could,” which is the perfect metaphor for Ukraine (I think I can, I think I can).
Thank you Watty Piper for this very motivational, can-do story.
With trial and error, I quickly found my rhythm and really enjoyed the class (please contact every teacher you’ve ever had and say, “Thank you!!”).
My chess buddy Ivan (age 13) was awarded a new chess set for highest attendance (he joined both the adult and children’s classes). 
Everyone I met is incredibility resilient… they’ve accepted what has happened and they’re moving forward.  Many are trying to immigrate and Canada is the #1 choice (a very open and accepting nation), followed by the U.K. and U.S.  In this photo, the class signed my flag and wrote my name in Cyrillic.   
Thank you to Isabelle who took over the class from me and has expanded the network of English teachers to keep the momentum. 
This trip exceeded all expectations.  I had nothing lined up and it all pieced together once I arrived and started on-the-ground networking.  The Ukrainians can feel the international support, and they take comfort knowing they are not alone. 
As I wrap up this adventure, I must stress again the value provided by World Central Kitchen.  They are extremely well organized and highly professional.  Donations are welcome via this link   https://donate.wck.org/give/396273/#!/donation/checkout
I returned to the U.S. just in time to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.  Thank you Lynda for your eternal patience! 
Please appreciate all that you have – I do.
ts

8 thoughts on “Part 4: Teaching English

  1. Tom, thanks for sharing your amazing trip. Great information, both heart wrenching and heart warming. Welcome back.

  2. Thank you Tom for sharing your story. I’m sure there were tough moments for you as well but it’s really heartwarming to see the international support. I really hope that the Ukrainians can go home safely soon.

Leave a comment